Georgia Department of Agriculture

Emerald Ash Borer (EAB)

The Emerald Ash Borer (EAB) is an insect that belongs to a group of metallic wood-boring beetles. Unlike our native beetles that kill weakened trees as part of the natural nutrient recycling process, emerald ash borers kill vigorously growing and weakened ash trees. It is not native to the United States and was first found near Detroit, Michigan in 2002. EAB is now found in 21 states and has already killed tens of millions of ash trees.

EAB was discovered in Georgia in July 2013 as part of the national detection survey funded by the USDA - Animal and Plant Health Protection Inspection Service, Plant Protection and Quarantine. Georgia has been part of a nationwide trapping program to detect the presence of this forest pest since 2005. Initially, the Georgia Dept. of Agriculture and the Georgia Forestry Commission quarantined only the counties where EAB was detected.  However, after the 2016 trapping season, both agencies agreed that the northern part of the state should be quarantined.  

The state of Georgia (both Georgia Forestry Commission and Department of Agriculture) is concerned about this pest spreading unchecked. Because of known occurrences the counties listed to the right are quarantined to prevent potentially infested ash wood from spreading outside this area. Both agencies will work with forest landowners, loggers, firewood producers, nurseries, municipalities and others to insure that commerce can still occur while safeguards are in place to prevent ash borer movement.

Georgia EAB County Map

EAB Quarantine Map

Quarantined Counties

  • Banks
  • Barrow
  • Bartow
  • Butts
  • Carroll
  • Catoosa
  • Chattooga
  • Cherokee
  • Clarke
  • Clayton
  • Cobb
  • Columbia
  • Coweta
  • Dade
  • Dawson
  • DeKalb
  • Douglas
  • Elbert
  • Fannin
  • Fayette
  • Floyd
  • Forsyth
  • Franklin
  • Fulton
  • Gilmer
  • Gordon
  • Greene
  • Gwinnett
  • Habersham
  • Hall
  • Haralson
  • Hart
  • Heard
  • Henry
  • Jackson
  • Jasper
  • Lamar
  • Lincoln
  • Lumpkin
  • Madison
  • McDuffie
  • Morgan
  • Murray
  • Newton
  • Oconee
  • Oglethorpe
  • Paulding
  • Pickens
  • Polk
  • Rabun
  • Richmond
  • Rockdale
  • Spalding
  • Stephens
  • Taliaferro
  • Towns
  • Union
  • Walker
  • Walton
  • Warren
  • White
  • Whitfield
  • Wilkes
Site Map | Printable View | Copyright © 2018 Georgia Department of Agriculture